What Closet Are You In?

P7110641

I just watched a video that a friend shared on Facebook.  At first I started watching it on the small screen of my cell phone but almost immediately needed to see it full-screen on my laptop.

Adam Mordecai writes on UpWorthy, “Ash Beckham is awesome.  She also happens to be gay, and she thinks it’s hard for straight people coming out of the closet.  At 2:30 she gently confronts a 4-year old.  At 3:30 she explains how hard it is for straight people to come out of the closet.  At 7:53 she makes a hard decision.  And at 8:56 she shares three rules about pancakes and life you should follow.”

A 4-Year-Old Girl Asked A Lesbian If She’s A Boy. She Responded The Awesomest Way Possible.

I was immediately struck by Ash Beckham saying we’re all living in a closet and it’s hard.  Every closet is a dark and scary place and opening that door and coming out is hard, no matter which closet door is being opened.  There is no relative.  Hard is hard is hard.

It gave me a new image, a new perspective from which to view my marriage.  I didn’t know at the time that I was stuck in the dark closet of a perfect marriage.  I had constructed such elaborate illusions around me that it took my husband’s affair to open the door, and even then I pulled hard to slam the door shut again.  What a gift my husband gave me when he threw the grenade and blew that door right off its hinges.

What closet are you in?……

Who's knocking on your door?....

Who’s knocking on your door?….

* I briefly thought of linking to the original video, but wanted to honour the site where I found it.  A positive result of social media – an ever expanding awareness…

2 Comments

November 7, 2013 · 12:34 pm

2 responses to “What Closet Are You In?

  1. Thank you for recommending this video. It made a great impression upon me. Thank you for sharing your insight and your own story. I definitely have a closet or two to clean out and/or step out of!

Leave a Reply

